Editorial 2017

With the 29th TYROL EASTER FESTIVAL, Innsbruck and Hall will again be venues for international exchange for three whole weeks. The motto “new.departures” applies to a full programme of early and modern music, dance, performance, film and discussions. We are living in a time of change and to some extent of new departures, which will best succeed if we all pull together. That calls for respect and a spirit of understanding for others – as opposed to hate speech, mistrust and indifference.

In the run up to the TYROL EASTER FESTIVAL, organ recitals under the OrgelSPIEL label (on five Saturdays starting 11 March) and the Fifteen Venues (26 March – 9 April) will offer islands of peace based on texts and music – and an opportunity to pause and reflect in these hectic times. The be.sides series organised by Gerhard Crepaz provides inputs great and small to carry you off to forgotten worlds without consumerism and add depth to your understanding of the various items on the programme.

This year’s festival opens on 31 March with an unusual project: Boris Charmatz’ homage to the legendary choreographer Merce Cunningham, who played such a big role in establishing a new departure for the art of dance. The participants are dance enthusiasts from the Tyrol. Together they develop an original, humorous piece in the form of a photo novel about and for the America artist.

Strong emotions are expressed in the Passions (Passion Sunday, 2 April; Good Friday, 14 April) with two wonderful, yet rarely performed works by Georg Philipp Telemann and Alessandro Scarlatti. Telemann’s St. Mark Passion (conductor: Bernhard Sieberer) begins with the Mount of Olives scene and ends with the Crucifixion, with allegorical figures like Faith, Fidelity and Piety commenting on the action. Scarlatti’s St. John Passion – a little masterpiece of simple grace – will be conducted by Leonardo García Alarcón (premiere for the Tyrol). Judas, one of the most ambiguous figures of the Christian faith, is the subject on a number of evenings of music, film and a discussion (Palm Sunday, 9 April: Oh you poor Judas, PerSonat, Concerto Palatino; 11 April: discussion on Judas as a scapegoat).

Through dance, performance, film and theatre we also take a look at change and new departures in the Arab world. With the help of danced images, a documentary film and the unspoken, the audience’s attention is drawn to the situation in Syria (1 April: Déplacement, Mithkal Alzghair), Egypt (1 April: Forbidden, Amal Ramsis) and Iran (15 April: Hearing, Amir Koohestani).

Salvatore Sciarrino, who has made such a strong contribution to the renewal of contemporary music, is 70 this year. We are dedicating an evening to him with works ranging from his early years up to today, plus Morton Feldman (6 April: Ensemble Phace). Unfolding the senses is Sciarrino’s objective with his music, and the same applies to Georg Friedrich Haas. In in vain, he plays with darkness and the intensity of light and their influence on our perceptions (13 April: Windkraft, Konstellation, conductor: Kasper de Roo).

A new departure at the level of genre is the impressive achievement of the Belgian artist Thierry De Mey in his new piece. As a composer, film director and choreographer, he employs a fusion of genres – dance, live music (five musicians from the Ensemble intercontemporain) and lighting design. His objective is the beauty of expression, of gesture (8 April: Simplexity). The festival concludes as it starts: with Merce Cunningham. Together with works by Twyla Tharp and William Forsythe, his popular choreography (Sounddance) provides a fitting conclusion to the festival (Easter Sunday, 16 April: Ballet de Lorraine).

We wish you lots of enjoyment in your reading, listening and watching, plus stimulating shared experiences.

Editorial 2017

Das 29. OSTERFESTIVAL TIROL macht Innsbruck und Hall über drei Wochen lang zu Orten internationalen Austausches. Unter dem Motto auf.bruch werden Alte und Neue Musik, Tanz, Performance sowie Film und Gespräche betrachtet. Wir befinden uns in einer Zeit von Veränderungen, teils auch von Aufbrüchen, die wir am besten gemeinsam schaffen. Dafür ist grundlegend Respekt und Verstehenwollen des jeweils Anderen – entgegen Verhetzung, Misstrauen und Gleichgültigkeit.

Bereits im Vorfeld des OSTERFESTIVAL TIROL lassen das OrgelSPIEL (an 5 Samstagen ab dem 11. März) und die 15 Orte (vom 26. März bis zum 9. April) mit Text und Musik Inseln der Stille erleben – ein Innehalten in der sonst so getriebenen Zeit. .daneben, eine Reihe mit Gerhard Crepaz, verführt Sie mit kleineren und größeren Impulsen in vergessene Welten abseits des Konsums und hilft, die Inhalte der Veranstaltungen tiefer zu erfahren.

Das Festival wird dieses Jahr mit einem ungewöhnlichen Projekt eröffnet (31. März): Boris Charmatz’ Hommage an den großen Choreographen Merce Cunningham, der für den Aufbruch der Kunstform Tanz von großer Bedeutung war. Auf der Bühne stehen bewegungsbegeisterte Menschen aus Tirol. Gemeinsam entwickeln sie ein originelles und humorvolles Stück zu und über den amerikanischen Künstler in Form eines Fotoromans.

Starke Emotionen finden sich in den Passionen (Passionssonntag, 2. April; Karfreitag 14. April) mit zwei selten zu hörenden Wunderwerken von Georg Philipp Telemann und Alessandro Scarlatti. Telemanns Markus-Passion (Leitung: Bernhard Sieberer) beginnt mit der Ölberg-Szene und endet mit der Kreuzigung; immer wieder geben allegorische Figuren wie Glauben, Eifer oder Religion Kommentare zum Geschehen. Scarlattis Johannes-Passion – ein kleines Meisterwerk an schlichter Anmut ist unter der Leitung von Leonardo García Alarcón (Tirol-Premiere) zu hören. Judas, eine der zwiespältigsten Figuren christlichen Glaubens, steht in Gespräch, Musik und Film im Zentrum mehrerer Abende (Palmsonntag 9. April: Oh du armer Judas, PerSonat, Concerto Palatino; 11. April: Gespräch/Dialog Judas als Sündenbock?).

Mit Tanz, Performance, Film und Theater beleuchten wir die Um- und Aufbrüche in derzeitigen Krisenländern. In Form getanzter Bilder, eines Dokumentarfilms und Unausgesprochenem wird auf die Situation in Syrien (1. April: Déplacement, Mithkal Alzghair), Ägypten (12. April: Forbidden, Amal Ramsis) und dem Iran (15. April: Hearing, Amir Koohestani) aufmerksam gemacht.

Salvatore Sciarrino, einer der wichtigen Erneuerer der zeitgenössischen Musik wird 70. Ihm widmen wir einen Abend mit Werken aus seinen ersten Jahren bis heute, dazu Morton Feldman (6. April: Ensemble Phace). Sciarrino ist um die Öffnung der Sinne durch seine Musik bedacht, das will auch Georg Friedrich Haas. in vain spielt mit Dunkelheit, der Intensität des Lichts und dem Einfluss auf unser Wahrnehmen (13. April: Windkraft, Konstellation, Leitung: Kasper de Roo).

Der Aufbruch von Genres ist dem belgischen Künstler Thierry De Mey in seinem neuen Stück auf wunderbare Weise gelungen. Als Komponist, Filmemacher und Choreograph lässt er die Kunstformen – Tanz, Live-Musik (fünf Musiker des Ensemble intercontemporain) und Lichtdesign ineinander verschmelzen. Ziel ist die Schönheit des Ausdrucks, der Geste. (8. April: Simplexity). Den Endpunkt setzt – wie auch den Beginn – Merce Cunningham, seine beliebte Choreographie (Sounddance), bildet mit Werken von Twyla Tharp und William Forsythe den großen Abschluss des Festivals. (Ostersonntag, 16. April: Ballet de Lorraine)

Wir wünschen viel Freude beim Lesen, Hören, Sehen und anregende gemeinsame Erfahrungen.