30th Tyrol Easter Festival – über.leben

From early to modern music, from performance and dance to non-European cultures, from film to action art, and from young people at the start of their careers to world-famous artists – all that forms part of the 30th Tyrol Easter Festival, which is being held under the motto über.leben.

The 30th anniversary edition of the Tyrol Easter Festival opens with an evening of exciting contrasts. René Jacobs and the Belgian B’Rock Orchestra will be exploring the world of sound that is the Schubert symphonies during the first and only evening devoted to this new cycle in Austria (17 March). The existential power of the music of Dmitri Shostakovich, who lived much of his life in a state of fear, will be evoked by the Russian pianist Alexander Melnikov (28 March). And with his Collegium Vocale Gent, Philippe Herreweghe, a Bach specialist and pioneer of early music, will interpret Bach’s St. John Passion (30 March, Good Friday).

In a number of Austrian premieres, dance and performance, in their different ways, will throw light on life and various modes of survival at a remove from the norm. In Gute Pässe Schlechte Pässe (Good Passports Bad Passports, 26 March) Helena Waldmann playfully contrasts and mixes cultures, people and (dance) languages. The Italian ensemble Motus goes in search of identity with MDLSX (31 March, Holy Saturday), in which the Italian performance icon Silvia Calderoni transcends the limits of nationality and the human body with a hymn to freedom. Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s eleven dancers (and Steve Reich’s Music for 18 Musicians) will deliver a dazzling and moving conclusion to the Festival with Rain (1 April, Easter Sunday).

In the field of modern music, Ensemble Recherche (21 March), who have a long record of involvement with the Festival, will carry the audience off to the world of the Tyrolean composer Johannes Maria Staud (his debut at the Festival) and his colleagues Younghi Pagh-Paan, Milica Djordjević and Lisa Streich. A universe of a special kind will open up in Wolfgang Rihm’s Et Lux (23 March), a form of modern requiem with music poised between the Middle Ages and the present. The Huelgas Ensemble (8 voices), which enjoys an international reputation for early music, and the Minguet Quartet will reveal the beauty of Rihm’s music.

Rounding off the 30th anniversary programme, the Festival also includes the film Ikiru (20 March), in which Akira Kurosawa embarks on a search for the meaning of life, and Michael Haneke’s Amour (22 March) with its narrative of transience and helplessness. There will also be a talk with Wolfgang Palaver (in German) in the Theological Faculty on attempts and meanings of survival (29 March, Maundy Thursday).

In the run-up to the Tyrol Easter Festival, 40 Orte (40 Places) will accompany us through Lent with music, text and action art (Ash Wednesday, 14 February to 31 March). Young Tyrolean musicians will play works from various periods and offer islands of quiet and reflection in our hectic world. And once again, we will be blessed with half an hour of joyful sensuousness from the “king of instruments” in 5 x OrgelSPIEL (Saturdays from 24 February to 24 March). With music from the 17th century to the modern period, five young organists resident in the Tyrol will bring moving vibrations to the Hall Parish Church and the audience.

30. Osterfestival Tirol – über.leben

Von Alter zu Neuer Musik, von Performance, Tanz bis zu außereuropäischen Kulturen, von Film über Aktionen, bis hin zu jungen – am Beginn stehenden – und weltbekannten Künstlern: alles vereint sich im 30. Osterfestival Tirol unter dem Motto über.leben.

Bereits die Eröffnung der Jubiläumsausgabe (17. März) ist ein Abend voller Spannungen und Gegensätze. René Jacobs und das belgische B’Rock Orchestra erforschen die Klangwelt der Schubert-Symphonien, der erste und einzige Abend in Österreich dieses neuen Zyklus. Die existentielle Kraft der Musik von Dmitri Schostakowitsch, der einen Großteil seines Lebens in Angst verbrachte, lässt der russische Pianist Alexander Melnikov (28. März) erahnen. Einer der Bachspezialisten und Pioniere der Alten Musik, Philippe Herreweghe, macht mit seinem Collegium Vocale Gent die Johannes-Passion von Johann Sebastian Bach erfahrbar (30. März, Karfreitag).

Mit österreichischen Erstaufführungen beleuchten Tanz und Performance auf unterschiedlichste Weise das Leben sowie die verschiedenen Arten abseits der Norm zu überleben. Helena Waldmann stellt in Gute Pässe Schlechte Pässe (26. März) Kulturen, Menschen und (Tanz-)Sprachen gegenüber, spielt mit ihnen und vermischt sie. Auf Identitätssuche geht das italienische Kollektiv Motus mit seinem Stück MDLSX (31. März, Karsamstag). Die italienische Performance-Ikone Silvia Calderoni sprengt hier die Grenzen von Nationalität und Körper mit einer Hymne an die Freiheit. Den glänzenden, lebensfrohen und bewegten Endpunkt des Festivals – mit Steve Reichs Music for 18 Musicians – bilden die 11 Tänzer Anne Teresa De Keersmaekers in Rain (1. April, Ostersonntag).

In Neue Musik entführt das mit unserem Festival seit langem vertraute ensemble recherche (21. März) durch die Welt des Tiroler Komponisten Johannes Maria Staud (erstmals im OFT) sowie seiner Kolleginnen Younghi Pagh-Paan, Milica Djordjević und Lisa Streich. Ein besonderes Universum eröffnet sich in Wolfgang Rihms Et Lux (23. März). Eine Art modernes Requiem, in der die Musik zwischen dem Mittelalter und unserer Gegenwart schwebt. Das für Alte Musik international renommierte Huelgas Ensemble (8 Stimmen) und das Minguet Quartett bringen die Schönheit der Musik Rihms zum Klingen.

Vervollständigt wird das Jubiläumsprogramm durch Filme wie: Ikiru von Akira Kurosawa (20. März), in dem er auf die Suche nach dem Sinn des Lebens geht; Michael Hanekes Amour (22. März) erzählt von der Vergänglichkeit des Lebens und von Hilflosigkeit. In der Theologie gibt es ein Gespräch mit Wolfgang Palaver über die Versuche und Bedeutungen des Überlebens (29. März, Gründonnerstag).

Im Vorfeld des Osterfestival Tirol führen 40 Orte mit Musik, Text und Aktionen (Aschermittwoch, 14. Februar bis 31. März) durch die Fastenzeit. Junge Tiroler Musiker spielen Werke unterschiedlicher Epochen – eine Form von Inseln der Stille, des Innehaltens, in der sonst so getriebenen Zeit. Eine halbe Stunde freudiger Sinnlichkeit schenkt uns wieder die „Königin der Instrumente“: 5 x OrgelSPIEL (jeden Samstag, 24. Februar bis 24. März). Fünf junge, in Tirol lebende Organisten versetzen mit Musik vom 17. Jahrhundert bis in unsere Zeit die Räume der Haller Pfarrkirche und uns in Bewegung.